finally an update.... - Reisverslag uit Bávaro, Dominicaanse Republiek van Ellis Derkx - WaarBenJij.nu finally an update.... - Reisverslag uit Bávaro, Dominicaanse Republiek van Ellis Derkx - WaarBenJij.nu

finally an update....

Door: Ellis

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ellis

14 November 2008 | Dominicaanse Republiek, Bávaro

It was just 15 minutes and I missed my flight. Through the strikes in Belgium there were traffic jams everywhere. So normally from me to Brussel is maximum 2 hours. But we were blocked from Antwerpen to Brussel and were standing still 3 hours, just 2 km away from the airport. My flight should be at 10.25 and I arrived at the airport at 11.30. I supposed I missed my flight but it has a delay because the plane had some problem with the motor. I was running around and get out of my dads car but than I couldnt find him anymore. And he didnt know where I was and he didnt bring his mobile and I didnt have credits. It was a drama. Because the stewardesses at the check in told me: you can check in now. But we dont wait 5 min more. But what could I do, because my dad had my other bag. I just had the diving equipment. So I was running around like crazy finding my dad! When I found him they were already closed but one from the ladies saw me, and I almost started to cry jejeje and than she checked me in and told me to RUNNNNNNNNNNNNN to the gate. Lucky me..

So that was my start from a stay at the Dominican Republic, jeje. The first weeks here were very strange as I was living in a hostel quiet far away from everything. At 18.30 hrs it was dark and Ellis was stuck in the house. I didnt like my job that much as everybody from the management was gone, and I was a little ´lost´ between the Dominicans, which were working in a very strange way for me.. So after two weeks I changed my job and my house. Im living with a cuban man, Enrique but he like to be called ´Cuba´and an English girl, Jenny who is my new soulmate. Because we look like the same in everything we do and think!! Which is not always good as we are almost alcoholics the last week. It was also because I didnt have a day off for 2,5 week and than I had 3 days off together, my IDC starts tomorrow. And everybody told me to relax before it starts, so lets enjoy the time off than :) Yesterday I made a slip&slide with my Canadian neighbour, Nolen. I will put a photo! We made a poolparty in the afternoon and a afterpoolparty at night, which was really nice. The made the pool by themselves, btw its our jacuzzi :)
The mosquitos really like me and they just dont stop biting me, and as long as they like me I cant stop scratching my legs, it looks terrible. I will put a photo from my legs after my fifth day here in the country. Now it looks even worse as I scratched them all open and its full of wounds now. And it doesnt help I pulling my wetsuit over them every day and pull them open again.. Anyway, thats a disadvantage, even like the tarantulas. The other day we had a GIANT tarantula in our garden, Im so happy Im sleeping under a mosquito net!!
That was enough complaining for me. In the beginning I didnt like it here that much but like you see in my stories now I really have a good time here. Its the opposite comparing to one month ago. Typically Ellis. In my first weeks I was shouting: Im directly leaving after my IDC!! now I decided to stay to the middle of February and than continueing my trip and lets go to Mexico. Jenny also likes to go there, and Ana is there waiting for me hopefully.. I also like to go Utilla and Australia, but I always like toooo much so lets just do my IDC now, and go to mexico and then I will see further. I do miss my friends and family in Holland and Gran Canaria off course, but my homesicknesses is gone. Lucky me, because I was almost back home after my first weeks.. And I still like to travel one or two years..
We had a nice party with Halloween, I will put some photos!! And I went on excursion to the caribean sea and dived a shipwreck which is called st. George. My boss told me its on the list from the 10 best wrecks in the world. It was really a great dive and I also enjoyed the second dive which was a reefdive.. The diving were Im working is really nice as well. We always do a deepdive at 09.00, many times we see sharks, barracuda´s, bigger stuff. At 10.00 we have the next dive, normally a shallower one to a reef or a wreck, Monica.. At 13.00 we normally have dives we DSD´s and a 15.00 the fourth dive. But I normally dont make 4 dives.. I like it there, the atmosphere is really nice and Im quiete busy so the time is flying.
But now Im not at work for 2 weeks, my IDC starts tomorrow. So I dont think I will do emails in this two weeks. I will be very busy.. So I will let you know how I did, as soon as possible!!
A big ´MISS YOU´ to Gran Canaria and Netherlands!!!!!!!
Ellis xx


  • 20 November 2008 - 21:46

    Tante Annie:

    He,he Elllisje ,eindelijk heb ik weer wat fotos kunnen bekijken.Blij dat het goed gaat en mail je snel.Zal wel even duren voordat ik je weer zie, snik-snik.Dikke kus

  • 04 December 2008 - 18:47

    Ellen:

    hello Ellis, hope you are very well and your instructor course went well, look forward to hear from you soon x x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ellis

Hallo vriendjes en vriendinnetjes, Zoals jullie inmiddels allemaal wel weten ga ik halverwege augustus Nederland verlaten.. Ik ben veel administratieve dingen aan het regelen, want het is nog een heel gedoe om alles hier op te zeggen enzo. Tja, ik ga echt emigreren. Ik blijf het eerste jaar in Gran Canaria. Na dat jaar weet ik het nog niet zeker: Als het goed bevalt blijf ik langer, maar ik zou ook wel graag voor een duikschool willen werken en misschien in nog wat andere landen gaan werken. Natuurlijk wil ik wel in contact blijven met alle mensen uit Nederland die ik lief vind! Groet, Ellis

Actief sinds 14 Juni 2006
Verslag gelezen: 306
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46535

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Juni 2010 - 27 December 2010

Maldives, Veligandu

06 Oktober 2008 - 27 Juni 2009

Caribean - dominican republic - mexico.......

27 Augustus 2006 - 07 September 2008

Gran Canaria

18 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Oceanie :-)

Landen bezocht: